Most people fully understand that when they are operating a vehicle, there are lots of rules and regulations to be followed. What most people likely don't know is that list of rules and regulations is lengthy in Maine, and some of the violations carry steep and significant fines that go well beyond $500 each.

The Maine Judicial Branch keeps an updated list of violations and the schedule of amounts due (fines) associated with each violation. In this article, we're focused on 10 different violations that you may not be aware carry stiff fines that go beyond $500.


Littering - $625 (2nd Offense)

Close Up Of Driver In Car Dropping Trash Out Of Window On Country Road
Daisy-Daisy
loading...

Many Maine roads still feature plenty of signage to remind drivers that littering from a vehicle is strictly prohibited in the state. That still doesn't stop drivers from breaking the law. Maine has increased the penalties for littering. A first violation is a $180, and a second violation (and further subsequent violations) is $625.


Walking on a Railroad Track - $925 (3rd offense)

Man with arms outstretched walking down the railroad track at sunset.
LumineImages
loading...

Perhaps the Stephen King adaptation, Stand By Me, has given some people the wrong impression about walking or standing on railroad tracks in Maine. It is strictly prohibited, and the schedule of fines proves it. Maine has a three strikes law in place for walking or standing on railroad tracks, which includes a robust $925 fine for a third offense.


Evasion of Registration Fees or Excise Tax - $926

Kanizphoto
Kanizphoto
loading...

As much as it pains drivers, every vehicle on the roads in Maine has to be registered. Sometimes, those excise taxes can be substantial. But if you're caught evading those fees, the fine will likely be even more painful. A first-time offense faces a $926 fine.


Use of Seat Belts - $625 (2nd Offense)

woman hand fastening a seat belt in the car
Tomwang112
loading...

The 'click it or ticket' campaign was one of the most memorable highway public service announcements in history, yet too many drivers in Maine still don't buckle their seatbelt. Fines have increased over the years, with the first offense costing someone $325 and a second offense (and subsequent) resulting in a $625 fine.


Use of Radar Detector - $625 (2nd Offense)

steverts
steverts
loading...

Once upon a time, having a radar detector in your vehicle to avoid potential speeding violations was something many people did. These days, it is far more infrequent. But there are still laws on the books in Maine, and if you're caught using one, the first offense is $325, and a second offense (and subsequent) results in a $625 fine.


Criminal Speeding in a School or Construction Zone - $531

School zone speed limit sign in front of trees
Garrett Aitken
loading...

Maine has a five-tier system for speeding violations. All but the first tier are in 5mph increments. Each tier will cost you more in fines, especially if you're caught speeding in a school or construction zone. A first-time offense faces a $531 fine for speeding 25 to 29mph over the limit.


Texting While Driving - $625 (2nd offense)

Tero Vesalainen
Tero Vesalainen
loading...

As cell phones and texting became a larger part of American culture, so did the prevalence of distracted driving. Maine has pushed hard for dutiful laws to deter cell phone usage while driving, including a $325 fine for first-time offenders and a $625 fine for a second violation (and any subsequent violations thereafter).


Stupid Questions People From Away Ask Mainers

Gallery Credit: Sean McKenna

LOOK: Here are just some of the most magical places in Maine

You don't need to break the bank or risk life and limb to feel like you're in another world. Just head to Maine and explore these surprisingly magical spots. Tap or click the photo for more information.

Gallery Credit: Stephen Lenz

More From WBZN Old Town Maine