Should There Be A Law Against Leaving Your Dog In Freezing Temperatures?
A state just passed a law that requires dog owners to bring their dog inside in cold weather. Should Maine have a similar law?
A new law went into effect this month in Pennsylvania. According to ABC 27, Libre’s Law states if you leave your dog "outside in freezing temperatures without adequate shelter for more than 30 minutes the owner can be fined, or receive jail time."
Fines range from $50-$750 and up to 90 days in jail. Fines skyrocket to $15,000 and 7 years in prison for a third-degree felony. County humane officers or police (if the county doesn't have a humane officer) are in charge of enforcing the law.
As we all know too well, Maine winters feature a wide range of conditions from freezing rain, to bitter cold and snow. Should Maine have a similar law?